June 4, 2023
How many types of law are there in the UK?

How many types of law are there in the UK?


If you are from the UK, then you know that there are many different types of law. However, how many types of law are there in the UK? In this post, we’re going to talk about the most common types of law in the UK in addition to their specific differences.

In the UK there are four types of law: Common Law, Statutory Law, and statutory regulations and statutes. These are important as they make up our legal system and we can’t ignore them. Law has been developed over time from the ancient Romans to modern times.

Civil Law

The UK has two distinct legal systems: civil law and common law.

Civil law is mainly used in France and Germany, while common law is used in the UK, the US, and Canada. The two systems are based on different legal principles but there are many similarities.

Civil law is the legal system that applies in England and Wales, Northern Ireland, and Scotland. It is based on Roman-era law codified by the common law courts. The civil law system differs from the common law system as it applies to most of Europe as well as some other countries (including Canada and Australia).

Civil law is sometimes referred to as mixed or pluralistic systems because it has elements from both private international law (which deals with individuals) and public international law (which deals with states).

Employment Law

Employment law is the law that governs the employment relationship, including aspects of employment such as employment contracts and termination of employment. Employment law also covers dismissals, discrimination, occupational health and safety, industrial relations, harassment, and other workplace relations issues.

The Employment Rights Act 1996 replaced a range of statutes dealing with various aspects of employment and also introduced a statutory right to certain minimum terms and conditions.

The Employment Rights Act 1996 was enacted by the Labour government in response to concerns that many employees were being unfairly treated at work. It was intended to remedy some of these problems by giving employees greater rights in their working relationship with their employers.

There are many different types of law in the UK. For example, employment law regulates the terms and conditions of employees’ contracts with their employers. Workers’ rights are also covered by this area of law.

There are also a number of laws that protect individuals from discrimination on the grounds of race, gender, disability, or age. A wide range of other laws gives people specific rights or protection against abuse or harassment.

Family Law

Family Law is the name given to the laws that govern all aspects of marriage, divorce, and unmarried couples.

The Family Law Act 1975 came into force on 1st July 1975 and changed the law relating to marriage and divorce in England and Wales.

The Act also created a new court for family proceedings known as the Family Court.

Under this Act, it is possible for unmarried couples to get married by registering their intention with the registrar at any time before midnight on 31st December in the year in which they wish to marry.

The family law system in the UK is complex and confusing. There are many types of family law, including:

Matrimonial law – The rules that apply when a married couple split up.

Parental responsibility – The rules that apply to children after parents split up.

Child maintenance – The rules that apply if someone has parental responsibility for a child but does not make child support payments.

Property division – What happens when a couple divorces or separates from each other?

Custody – Who gets custody of the children when parents divorce or separate?

Public Law

Public Law is comprised of the laws and regulations that are passed by parliament and which can be seen as a legal framework for the UK, it also includes the rules governing how the government operates.

The main body of public law, known as Parliament Acts, is made up of Acts of Parliament. Acts are usually bills passed by parliament which set out how powers should be exercised by government bodies or how laws should be made.

The court’s power to interpret statutes is derived from the doctrine of Parliamentary sovereignty which means that any statute must be interpreted in accordance with its purpose. This means that if there is doubt about what parliament intended then this must be resolved in favor of allowing ministers to exercise their powers as they wish unless there is some other clear indication that they cannot do this.


There are four key types of law in the UK: civil, criminal, tort and contract. Civil law involves disputes between private citizens, whilst criminal law governs matters of wrongdoing by the state or its employees. Tort laws are designed to help victims receive compensation for their injuries, with contract laws pertaining to written promises or agreements made between two or more parties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *